Tour de France stg 14 Thibaut Pinot wins


Frenchman Thibaut Pinot won stage 14 on the Col du Tourmalet, while defending champion Geraint Thomas slipped further behind Tour de France leader Julian Alaphilippe.

A breakaway group of seven-riders dropped defending champion Thomas.

The six riders, Emanuel Buchmann, Julian Alaphilippe, Thibaut Pinot, Mikel Landa, Egan Berna, and Steven Kruijswijk closed in on the final 500-meter climb together for the spring which Pinot won.

“Since the start of the Tour I’ve been targeting this stage, this is the one I wanted, the mythical Tourmalet. We are going into the third week now, people will be tired, but this is where I feel best,” he added, on a result that left him fifth on GC, 3:12 behind Alaphilippe." said Pinot.


Stage 14 result
1. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) 3 hrs 10 mins 20 secs

2. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Deceuninck-Quick Step) +6secs

3. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) same time

4. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) +8secs

5. Egan Bernal (Col/Team Ineos) same time

6. Mikel Landa (Spa/Movistar) +14secs

7. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education First) +30secs

8. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Ineos) +36secs

9. Warren Barguil (Fra/Arkea Samsic) +38secs

10. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana Pro Team) +53secs

GC after stage 14
1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Deceuninck Quick-Step) 56hrs 11min 29secs

2. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Ineos) +2min 2secs

3. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +2mins 14secs

4. Egan Bernal (Col/Team Ineos) +3mins

5. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) +3mins 12secs

6. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +3mins 12secs

7. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education First) +4mins 24secs

8. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana Pro Team) +5mins 22secs

9. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +5mins 27secs

10. Enric Mas (Spa/Deceuninck Quick-Step) +5mins 38secs