Australian Team for 2019 UCI Para-cycling Track World Champs



Cycling Australia announced a 17-rider team for the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships to be held in the Netherlands from 14-17 March.

The Championships offers valuable qualification points towards the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, with the Australian team to vie against 200 of the world’s best from 30 countries.

The selections feature a host of reigning and former world champions including David Nicholas (QLD), Amanda Reid (NSW), Simone Kennedy (NSW), Alistair Donohoe (VIC) and Kyle Bridgwood (QLD), plus the Tandem pairing of Jessica Gallagher (VIC) and Pilot Madison Janssen (VIC).

Emily Petricola (VIC) returns to the team following her outstanding debut at the 2018 World Championships which saw her bring home dual medals and the individual pursuit world record.

“The world record, it’s a lovely sort of thing that I'll be proud of when I look back on my career, but at this moment for me it’s just about trying to be better than what I’ve been before, to try to make sure that there’s no one better than me on that day,” said Petricola, who unofficially bettered her existing world mark on the way to the National crown last December.

2018 World Championship silver medalist in the scratch race Darren Hicks (SA) will look to continue his strong form with a focus towards the timed events.

“It’s just exciting to go into 2019 with a lot ahead rather than just the time trial so I’m excited,” said Hicks, who went within two seconds of the 3-kilometre individual pursuit world record (set at altitude) at December’s Nationals. “The individual pursuit has never really been a focus, but I’d like to run a three 41 or a 42 just to reassure myself that it’s something I can do every time we get to any track in the world.”

Newcomer Paige Greco (SA), who shone at December’s Track Nationals in Melbourne, will make her national team debut, as will Michael Shippley (QLD) and Daniel Van der Laan (NSW).

“It’s (Australian team selection) has been a goal since I moved to Adelaide, so I am thrilled and excited,” said Greco, who announced herself on the para-cycling scene with dual national records and gold at the 2018 Track Nationals. “My goal at worlds is a PB (personal best time), but I’ve got some things I need to work on.  

“I’m also really looking forward to the team environment as it will be excellent to get some advice from the more experienced riders and see how they handle the pressure.”

In the men's Tandem events Brad Henderson (SA) is confirmed, with his Pilot to be named at a later date.

The Australian Cycling Team will head to Brisbane in late January for a team training camp and UCI Category 2 event before heading to the Netherlands in late March.

The Team celebrated ten medals at the 2018 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Rio, the fourth most by any nation behind Great Britain, Netherlands and China.


  • Emily Petricola (VIC) C4
  • Paige Greco (SA) C3
  • Meg Lemon (SA) C4
  • Amanda Reid (NSW) C2
  • Simone Kennedy (NSW) C3
  • Jessica Gallagher (VIC) + Madison Janssen (Pilot) WB Tandem
  • David Nicholas (QLD) C3
  • Darren Hicks (SA) C2
  • Alistair Donohoe (VIC) C5
  • Kyle Bridgwood (QLD) C4
  • Gordon Allan (NSW) C2
  • Michael Shippley (QLD) C4
  • Daniel Van der Laan (NSW) C5
  • Darcy Thompson C1 (SA)
  • Brad Henderson* + (Pilot TBC) MB